Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS)

Surveys of doctoral researchers and supervisors

The surveys of doctoral researchers and supervisors, which take place regularly about every three years, are the two most important instruments for reviewing the existing PhD structures and processes. 

The questionnaires cover various aspects regarding

  • the supervision and support of doctoral researchers
  • the working and research conditions of doctoral researchers and their supervisors
  • the compatibility of family and doctorate
  • good scientific practice

The main objective of the survey of the supervisors is to directly compare the results of the survey of the doctoral researchers with the supervisors’ opinion on a large number of questions (self-assessment vs. assessment by others).

The results of the evaluations are the basis for reviewing KIT’s quality objectives regarding the promotion of young researchers. At the different institutional levels (KIT Executive Board, KIT Departments, KHYS, conventions of doctoral researchers, etc.), they are discussed following the evaluation, and measures are derived that focus on improving the PhD conditions at KIT. Being central to the PhD quality management system, the measures derived from the results of the surveys are recorded and their effects are checked in the subsequent evaluations in order to document achieved successes or to follow up on measures that have not had any effects on measures that have been introduced. In addition, the results are used to fulfill the legal obligations to report to the public, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, and the KIT bodies, institutes, and institutions, e.g. the Supervisory Board and the KIT Senate.

A current survey of doctoral researchers and supervisors will be conducted by the end of July 2020. Further information can be found here.


The results of the survey of 2013 (KIT overall and KIT Departments’ evaluations) are available on the Intranet External Link to all KIT members (in German only).

Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS)

Befragung der Doktorand*innen und Erstbetreuer*innen

Die regelmäßig in einem Turnus von rund drei Jahren stattfindenden Befragungen der Doktorand*innen und Erstbetreuer*innen sind die beiden wichtigsten Instrumente zur Überprüfung der vorhandenen Strukturen und Prozesse im Promotionswesen. 

Die Fragebögen behandeln u. a. verschiedene Aspekte

  • zur Betreuung und Förderung der Doktorand*innen
  • der Arbeits- und Forschungsbedingungen der Doktorand*innen und ihrer Betreuung
  • zur Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Promotion
  • zur guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis

Das Hauptziel der Befragung der Erstbetreuer*innen ist, die Ergebnisse der Befragung der Doktorand*innen mit der Meinung der Betreuer*innen zu einer Vielzahl der Fragen direkt zu vergleichen (Selbsteinschätzung vs. Fremdeinschätzung).

Die Ergebnisse der Evaluationen sind Grundlage für die Überprüfung der selbstgesetzten Qualitätsziele in der Nachwuchsförderung des KIT. Auf den verschiedenen institutionellen Ebenen (KIT-Präsidium, KIT-Fakultäten, KHYS, Doktorandenkonvente etc.) werden sie im Nachgang der Evaluation diskutiert und Maßnahmen abgeleitet, die die Verbesserung der Promotionsbedingungen am KIT im Fokus haben. Als zentraler Bestandteil des Qualitätsmanagementsystems für das Promotionswesen werden die aus den Ergebnissen der Umfragen abgeleiteten Maßnahmen protokolliert und deren Wirkungen in den nachfolgenden Evaluationen überprüft, um erreichte Erfolge zu dokumentieren bzw. nachzusteuern, wenn sich keine Wirkungen auf eingeleitete Maßnahmen zeigen. Darüber hinaus werden die Ergebnisse zur Erfüllung der gesetzlichen Berichtspflichten gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit, dem Wissenschaftsministerium sowie gegenüber KIT-internen Einrichtungen, z.B. Aufsichtsrat und KIT-Senat, verwendet.

Eine aktuelle Befragung der Doktorand*innen und Erstbetreuer*innen des KIT findet bis Ende Juli 2020 statt. Weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie hier.


Die Ergebnisse der Befragung aus dem Jahr 2013 (KIT-Gesamtauswertung und fakultätsbezogen) sind im Intranet External Link für alle KIT-Mitglieder zugänglich.