Home | deutsch  | Impressum | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT



Welcome to the Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS)

Are you a doctoral or postdoctoral researcher and would you like to set the course for your current or future career? If so the Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS) will support you by providing you with advice, assistance and financial means.

We

  • individually advise, qualify, and support young scientists during their careers;
  • further develop the support of young scientists at KIT and maintain the quality of the doctoral research phase;
  • support coordinated research programs (e.g. research training groups) for the promotion of young scientists.

 

 

IMPORTANT AMENDMENT RELATING TO THE DOCTORATE AS OF JANUARY 01, 2015:

As of January 01, 2015, conclusion of doctoral agreements and subsequent central registration of doctoral candidates with KHYS shall be mandatory at KIT. Both prerequisites have to be fulfilled for acceptance by a KIT department. The legal basis is Article 38, paragraph 5 of the Law of Baden-Württemberg on Universities and Colleges.
These new obligations shall apply to all doctoral candidates, who were not accepted by a KIT department on January 01, 2015.
For the registration of these doctoral candidates, KHYS has established a separate registration portal on behalf of the Presidential Committee.
Hence, KHYS presently offers two different portals – one for doctoral candidates, who are obliged to register, and one for all other doctoral candidates and post-docs.

 

  • KHYS Registration Portal*
    All doctoral candidates, who were not accepted by a KIT department on January 01, 2015, shall be obliged to register with the newly established registration portal.

    >> To the KHYS Registration Portal


  • KHYS Network*
    The following doctoral candidates and post-docs of KIT are free to register with the KHYS network:
    • Doctoral candidates, who had already been accepted by one of the eleven KIT departments on January 01, 2015 or who had submitted a request for acceptance before January 01, 2015
    • Doctoral candidates, who conduct most of their research at KIT, but will pass their doctorate at another university
    • Post-docs*
    •  

    >>To the KHYS Network

 

 

Register First, then Profit!

By your registration with the KHYS Registration Portal or the KHYS Network, you will become member of KHYS. In this way, you will have the opportunity to profit from the variety of  KHYS offers. Here, all advantages are obvious at a glance.

If you have any questions and wishes, please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

 

*KHYS promotes postdoctoral researchers in the first postdoc phase (qualification/ orientation phase, which should last no longer than three years).

 

News

KIT News
Using Social Media for your career

How can scientists benefit through active use of social media and what are the risks of communicating online? The German-language seminar "Using social media for your career" on June 26, 2018 provides a clear structured introduction to the possibilities of communication for scientists online and provides practical tips and tricks for using relevant social media for your own career planning.

<more>

KIT News
Current Grant Announcement

The “Networking Grant” enables doctoral and postdoctoral researchers to generate new international contacts. KHYS offers financial support with a travel subsidy of up to Euro 1,500. Please note, that especially those applicants, who have not had the chance to gain international experience yet, will benefit most of this program and the accompanying workshops. Application deadline is on Sunday, June 17, 2018.

 

<more>

 

 
KIT News
Welcome event for doctoral researchers

Have you just started your doctoral research period? And would like to know more about the services offered at KIT for doctoral researchers? Then come and join other German and international KIT PhD students at the welcome event for doctoral researchers. In a presentation on June 21, 2018, we will give you plenty of information on how to best profit from the doctoral research period. 

<more>

Doktorandenpreis
10th KIT doctoral award awarded

On February 21, 2018, during the KIT-Ehrenabend of the President, the 10th KIT doctoral award was conferred for outstanding research. This year the award was endowed by the Karl Schlecht Stiftung in cooperation with KIT-Stiftung. Vice President Oliver Kraft honored Gustavo Lenis, Daniel Bahro and Pascal Friederich for their excellent success in research. We congratulate the award winners and wish them much success. KIT sincerely thanks Karl Schlecht Stiftung for their support!

<more>

 

 

 
News
KHYS-Further education program January-June 2018

In 2018, KHYS offers a large variety of advanced training courses which are usually free of charge for all KHYS members. The program includes courses in management, research & communication, doctoral & careers advice as well as languages. An overview of the program for the first half of 2018 can be found in this flyer.

<more>


KIT News
Ombudspersons for doctoral researchers and supervisors at KIT The Ombudspersons act as contact persons in cases of conflicts or disputes between doctoral researchers and supervisors during the doctoral research phase. Doctoral researchers and supervisors are free to initiate contact with any Ombudsperson at any point. They can decide for themselves whom they wish to address irrespective of they research background.

<more>
 
News
Helmholtz-Talentcampus

The blog presents the exciting and diverse faces of the Helmholtz Association, presents experts and topics from the broad field of talent promotion and career development in science and provides insights into what is done day-to-day in the Helmholtz Association to make it not only an outstanding scientific institution, but also an inspiring workplace for all employees.

<more>

KIT News
KIT pool of skills is online!

All employees as well as guests and partners of KIT are invited to present their professional thematic spectrum within KIT. The pool offers the possibilities of assignment to KIT centers and their topics and research concerning them, as well as the integration of own publications.

<more>

 
Das neue KHYS-Handbuch für Promovierende ist da!
KHYS guide for doctoral researchers

The e-book provides you with information, tips and numerous services concerning your doctorate at KIT.

<more>

 
  For further interesting pieces of news go to our news archive.

<more>

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

KHYS Home

Willkommen beim Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS)

Das Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS) ist die zentrale Einrichtung für Nachwuchsförderung am KIT. Wir sind damit die Anlaufstelle für alle Promotionsinteressierte, Promovierende, Postdocs* und Betreuende und verbindendes Element für die Promotionsprogramme des KIT.

Unsere Kernaufgaben sind:

  • den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs auf seinem Karriereweg individuell zu beraten, zu qualifizieren und zu fördern
  • die Nachwuchsförderung am KIT weiterzuentwickeln und die Qualität der Promotionsbedingungen zu sichern
  • koordinierte Forschungsprogramme (z.B. GRKs) bezüglich Nachwuchsförderung zu unterstützen

 

WICHTIGE NEUERUNG ZUR PROMOTION AB 01.01.2015:

Mit Wirkung zum 1. Januar 2015 hat das KIT den Abschluss von Promotionsvereinbarungen und die anschließende zentrale Registrierung beim KHYS verpflichtend eingeführt. Beides ist Voraussetzung für die Annahme an einer KIT-Fakultät. Gesetzliche Grundlage ist §38, Absatz 5 LHG.
Diese neuen Verpflichtungen gelten demnach für alle Doktorand/-innen, die zum 01.01.2015 nicht an einer KIT-Fakultät angenommen waren.

Zur Registrierung dieser Doktorand/-innen hat das KHYS im Auftrag des Präsidiums ein separates Registrierungsportal eingerichtet.
Damit gibt es beim KHYS derzeit zwei verschiedene Portale – eines für die Doktorand/-innen mit Registrierungspflicht und eines für alle anderen Doktorand/-innen und Postdocs:


 
  • KHYS-Registrierungsportal
    In dem neu eingerichteten Registrierungsportal müssen sich alle Doktorand/-innen registrieren, die zum 01.01.2015 nicht an einer KIT-Fakultät angenommen waren.

    >> zum KHYS-Registrierungsportal


  • KHYS-Netzwerk:

    Im KHYS-Netzwerk können sich ausschließlich folgende Doktorand/-innen und Postdocs des KIT freiwillig anmelden:

    • Doktorand/-innen, die zum 01.01.2015 bereits an einer der elf KIT-Fakultäten angenommen waren bzw. einen Antrag gestellt hatten
    • Doktorand/-innen, die am KIT Ihren Forschungsmittelpunkt haben, aber an einer anderen Hochschule Ihre Promotion ablegen werden
    • Postdocs*

 

Zuerst registrieren. Dann profitieren!

Mit Ihrer Registrierung im KHYS-Registrierungsportal oder Ihrer Anmeldung im KHYS-Netzwerk sind Sie Mitglied des KHYS. Damit können Sie von den vielfältigen KHYS-Angeboten profitieren. Hier finden Sie alle Vorteile auf einen Blick.

Für Fragen und Wünsche sind wir gerne für Sie da.

 

* Das KHYS fördert Postdoktorand/-innen in der ersten Postdocphase (Qualifikations-/Orientierungsphase, die nicht länger als drei Jahre dauern sollte).

 

News

KIT News
Social Media für die Karriere nutzen

Wie können Wissenschaftler/-innen durch aktive Nutzung der sozialen Medien profitieren und welche Risiken gibt es bei der Kommunikation online? Das Seminar „Social Media für die Karriere nutzen" am 26.06.2018 gibt anhand von aktuellen Beispielen eine klar strukturierte Einführung in die Möglichkeiten der Kommunikation für Wissenschaftler/-innen online und liefert praktische Tipps und Tricks zur Nutzung relevanter sozialer Medien für die eigene Karriereplanung.

<mehr>

KIT-News
Kollegiales Promotionscoaching

Das Kollegiale Promotionscoaching findet am 13.06.2018 von 09:00-13:00 Uhr statt und soll dazu beitragen, typische Merkmale und Besonderheiten der Promotionsphase näher zu betrachten, vor diesem Hintergrund die eigene Situation als Doktorand/-in zu analysieren und Verfahrensschritte für ein gutes Selbstmanagement einzuüben. Mit anderen Promovierenden sollen unter Anleitung die eigenen Leistungsstrategien, phasenbedingte Fragen und „Stolpersteine" bearbeitet und Lösungen entwickelt werden.

<mehr>

 
KIT News
Ausschreibung: Networking Grant

Der Zuschuss „Networking Grant“ ermöglicht Promovierenden und Postdocs neue internationale Kontakte zu knüpfen. Das KHYS unterstützt sie dabei finanziell bis zu einer Förderhöhe von maximal 1.500 Euro. Von diesem Programm profitieren vor allem Bewerber/-innen, die bisher noch wenig Erfahrungen mit dem „Kontakte knüpfen“ in der internationalen Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft machen konnten. Anträge können bis einschließlich Sonntag, 17. Juni 2018 eingereicht werden.

 

<mehr>

 

News
Research Travel Grant - Forschungsaufenthalt im Ausland

Das KHYS schreibt das Research Travel Grant für Promovierende und Postdocs aus und fördert Ihren drei- bis sechsmonatigen Forschungsaufenthalt im Ausland finanziell. Bewerbungsschluss: Sonntag, 10. Juni 2018. 

<mehr>

 
KIT News
Welcome event for doctoral researchers

Have you just started your doctoral research period? And would like to know more about the services offered at KIT for doctoral researchers? Then come and join other German and international KIT doctoral researchers at the welcome event for doctoral researchers. In a presentation on June 21, 2018, we will give you plenty of information on how to best profit from the doctoral research period. 

<more>

Doktorandenpreis
10. KIT-Doktorandenpreis verliehen

Im Rahmen des Ehrenabends des Präsidenten wurde am 21. Februar 2018 der 10. KIT-Doktorandenpreis verliehen, der in diesem Jahr von der Karl Schlecht Stiftung in Kooperation mit der KIT-Stiftung gefördert wird. Vizepräsident Oliver Kraft zeichnete Gustavo Lenis, Daniel Bahro und Pascal Friederich für ihre hervorragenden Forschungsleistungen aus. Wir beglückwünschen die Preisträger und wünschen Ihnen weiterhin viel Erfolg. Das KIT dankt der Karl Schlecht Stiftung herzlich für die Unterstützung!

<mehr>

 

 

 
News
KHYS-Weiterbildungs-programm erstes Halbjahr 2018

Auch 2018 bietet das KHYS ein vielfältiges und i.d.R. kostenfreies Weiterbildungs-angebot für alle KHYS-Mitglieder an. Das Programm umfasst Kurse aus den Bereichen Management, Forschung & Kommunikation, Promotion & Karriere wie auch Sprachkurse. Einen Überblick über das Programm des ersten Halbjahres 2018 finden Sie in diesem Flyer.

<mehr>

KIT News
Ombudspersonen für Doktorand/-innen und Betreuer/-innen am KIT

Die Ombudspersonen für Doktorand/-innen sowie Betreuer/-innen am KIT sind Ansprechpartner/-innen bei Konflikten oder Streitfällen im Laufe der Promotionsphase. Doktorand/-innen und Betreuer/-innen können sich jederzeit an eine der bestellten Ombudspersonen wenden. Dabei kann die betreffende Person frei entscheiden, an welche der Ombudspersonen (die sich als unabhängige Vertrauensperson verstehen) sie sich richten möchte.

<mehr>

 
News
Helmholtz-Talentcampus

Der Blog zeigt die spannenden und vielfältigen Gesichter der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, präsentiert Expert/innen und Themen aus dem weiten Feld der Talentförderung und Karriereentwicklung in der Wissenschaft und gibt Einblicke in das, was Tag für die Tag in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft getan wird, um sie nicht nur zu einer herausragenden Wissenschaftseinrichtung sondern auch zu einem inspirierenden Arbeitsort für alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter zu machen.

<mehr>

KIT News
KIT-Kompetenzpool ist online!

Alle Beschäftigten sowie Gäste und Partner des KIT sind eingeladen, ihr fachliches Themenspektrum innerhalb des KIT zu präsentieren, deshalb ist auch eine Zuordnung und Recherche zu KIT-Zentren und deren Topics sowie die Einbindung der eigenen Publikationen möglich. 

<mehr>

 
Das neue KHYS-Handbuch für Promovierende ist da!
KHYS-Handbuch für Promovierende

Rund um das Thema Promovieren am KIT versorgt Sie das E-Book mit Informationen, Tipps und zahlreichen Hilfestellungen während der Promotion.

<mehr>

 
  Weitere interessante Informationen finden Sie in unserem Newsarchiv.

<mehr>