

PhD Student Council of the KIT Faculty of Physics Minutes of the Session on Tuesday, 05/12/2023, 5:30 p.m.

VENUE	KIT Campus South, building 30.23, seminar room 6/1, 5:30 p.m.

 PRESENT MEMBERS
Caroline Fengler, Isabel Haide, Alexander Heidelbach, Lucas Kunz, Greta Heine, Henda Mansour, Simon Strähnz, Lukas Gülzow, Tom Lacmann, Federico Bontempo, Robin Hofsaess, Cedric Verstege, Jonas Eppelt, Benjamin Campillo, Tim Kretz, Ioannis Karapatzakis, Timon Eichhorn, Evgenij Vasilenko, Jeremias Zesch, Jelena Köhler, Nicoline Hemme, Sowmiya Balan, Caroline Fengler, Artur Monsch, Christian Winter, Lars Franke, Luca Kosche, Daniel Schroller, Viktor Adam, Nikita Ustimenko, Marie Louise Schubert, Megha Venugopal, Dat Nguyen, Julia Thomas (34)
GUESTS

CHAIR Alexander Heidelbach PROTOCOL Lucas Kunz

ITEM 1 Confirmation of the Quorum

The names of every attending person were collected. This totaled 34 attending PhD students, surpassing the necessary number of 11 to reach a quorum. The quorum is confirmed.

ITEM 2 Confirmation of the Agenda

The agenda communicated via the invitation email is confirmed. The agenda items are the report of the Council and the election of a new Board.

ITEM 3 Report of the PhD Student Council

- PhD student council was reborn last year after five years of non-existence/inactivity
- Board met four times to discuss and formulate goals and evaluate the progress
- representation via guest seats in Fakultätsrat, Bereichsrat, KIT Senate
- active participation in the KIT-wide Promovierendenbeirat
- "How to PhD" corrected
- statutes and website were updated (still some work to do)
- started English website
- Board met with the dean for consultation about new examination regulations (see item 5)

ITEM 4 Election of a Board

Up to five persons can be part of the Board. Every member of the council has five votes to give $(5 \times 34 = 170 \text{ votes in total})$.

The names of the elected persons are written in bold .			
Name	number of votes		
Lucas Kunz	27		
Isabel Haide	23		
Greta Heine	19		
Jelena Köhler	9		
Caroline Fengler	19		
Lukas Gülzow	11		
Christian Winter	8		
Alexander Heidelbach	19		
Marie Louise Schubert	24		
abstention	11		

The decision between Alexander Heidelbach, Caroline Fengler and Greta Heine was taken by the lot according to §3 (2) of the statutes.

After the elected persons accepted and took up their office, the Board of the PhD student council from now on consists of Isabel Haide, Greta Heine, Caroline Fengler, Lucas Kunz and Marie Louise Schubert.

Vote for the spokesperson of the Board

The Board needs a spokesperson and a deputy spokesperson.

Do you support Greta Heine as spokesperson and Isabel Haide as deputy?			
Name	number of votes		
yes	5		
no	0		

Greta Heine is elected as spokesperson of the Board, Isabel Haide is deputy spokesperson. Both accept the election.

ITEM 5 Any other Business

We discussed about whether the oral examination (Verteidigung) should be public (as planned) or not (as is currently the case). Opinions were collected and the majority opted for a public exam as default case with the possibility to ask for a private one.

Furthermore, displeasure was expressed about the fact that in the event of a tie, the lot decides. An amendment to this section of the statutes will be made.